Volume I, Issue 4: March 2009
Alumni News

Alumni News

Alumni Association honors 18 with Lauds & Laurels

James Danziger
James Danziger, recipient of the Lauds & Laurels Extraordinarius award

The UCI Alumni Association has announced that former undergraduate dean James N. Danziger will receive the Extraordinarius award at its 39th annual Lauds & Laurels ceremony Thursday, May 14, at the Hilton Irvine.

Seventeen other distinguished individuals also will be honored for their commitment to UCI. They were selected by a committee of alumni, faculty, students and volunteers. A complete list of honorees follows.

Since 1971, UCIAA has recognized more than 600 alumni and friends, with proceeds from the ceremony benefitting UCIAA scholarship programs.

The Extraordinarius award, Lauds & Laurels' highest honor, is presented to individuals who have prominently contributed to the advancement of UCI and support the university's fundamental missions of teaching, research and public service.

Danziger, political science research professor, joined the UCI faculty in 1972 while completing his doctorate from Stanford University. An expert in the relationship between information technologies and political change, he won the 1979 Alumni Association teaching award and eight years later earned the UCI Academic Senate Distinguished Faculty Lectureship Award for Teaching.

"Jim is a man of all seasons," said William R. Schonfeld, political science professor and 2002 Extraordinarius award recipient, in his nomination of Danziger. "He is a first-rate scholar, arguably the best teacher on campus, a long-serving administrator who has had an important impact, and a profoundly decent, moral, caring human being who is a role model for us all."

Outside the classroom, Danziger has held many posts, including dean of undergraduate education from 1995 to 1999, associate dean of social sciences, chair of the political science department, and chair of the Irvine Division of the UC Academic Senate.

Individual tickets to the 6 p.m. ceremony are $250; 10-person tables also are available. For information or reservations, call 949-824-2586.


James N. Danziger, Ph.D. (Social Sciences)
Ali Malik (Humanities)

Kathy H. Rim (Social Sciences)

Jon Steller (Biological Sciences)
Men's volleyball

David Leinen (Social Sciences)

Donald Blake, M.S. '80, Ph.D. '84 (Physical  Sciences)

Pamela A. Kelley '89 (Social Sciences)

Claire Trevor School of the Arts
MaryJo Lang '74
Folio mixer, Warner Bros. Inc.

School of Biological Sciences
Daniel Boehne, D.D.S. '99
Dentist in private practice

The Paul Merage School of Business
Lisa Stephenson Locklear, M.B.A. '84
Senior vice president and CFO, Ingram Micro

Department of Education
Christina Giguiere, M.A. '03
Credential program coordinator, Department of Education, UC Irvine

The Henry Samueli School of Engineering
John Tracy, Ph.D. '87
Senior vice president, The Boeing Company
School of Humanities
Colette Atkinson, M.F.A. '90, Ph.D. '98
Associate director, International Center for Writing and Translation, UC Irvine

Donald Bren School of Information & Computer Sciences
David Feign, Ph.D. '80
Retired, Rockwell Automation

School of Medicine
Rudolph Baldoni, D.O., M.D. '61
Retired anesthesiologist and osteopathic physician

School of Physical Sciences
Roy Beven '74
Science education specialist, Northwest Evaluation Association

School of Social Ecology
Jose Solorio '92
Assemblyman, California State Assembly

School of Social Sciences
Samuel W. Downing '67
President and CEO, Salinas Valley Memorial Healthcare System

Lauds & Laurels »

Alumni links

UCIAA logo

About the Alumni Association

Membership partners

Anteaters on the Web